If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Warhammer: Age of Sigmar’s next big story expansion, Broken Realms, introduces new lore, rules and miniatures

Launching with a new starter set and warscroll battalion boxes.

Image credit: Games Workshop

Warhammer: Age of Sigmar is getting its next major expansion, Broken Realms, which will advance the miniatures game’s story with new narrative scenarios, rules and models.

Broken Realms will comprise a series of books featuring lore and rules, with the first focused on the Shadow Queen, Morathi.

The 60-page tome will include story details and battleplans based around five factions during the end of the Mortal Realms setting’s Soul Wars, as well as introducing new gameplay rules for the Stormcast Eternals, Daughters of Khaine, Cities of Sigmar, Slaves to Darkness and Idoneth Deepkin.

Cover image for YouTube video

The rules include the new Zainthar Kai allegiance for the Daughters of Khaine, as well as new keywords for the Slaves to Darkness and the ability to field Misthåvn and Har Kuron as Cities of Sigmar.

Launching alongside the core Broken Realms: Morathi book will be a new box set, Shadow & Pain, featuring 38 models for Hedonites of Slaanesh and Daughters of Khaine led by new hero miniatures - a Lord of Pain leading the Slaanesh units and a Melusai Ironscale heading up Morathi’s troops. The starter set will include everything needed to play out of the box - minus dice - plus a 40-page booklet featuring narrative concerning the armies’ battle.

Image credit: Games Workshop

Four additional boxes will be released, each featuring a warscroll battalion featuring in the Morathi book: The Bloodsurf Hunt, Gresh’s Iron Reapers, Van Brecht’s Black Watch and Kraeth’s Shadowpact.

Broken Realms: Morathi is yet to have a release date confirmed. There are no announced details on future books and miniatures in the rest of the series.

Dicebreaker is the home for friendly board game lovers

We welcome board gamers of all levels, so sign in and join our community!

In this article

Warhammer: Age of Sigmar

Tabletop Game

Related topics
About the Author
Matt Jarvis avatar

Matt Jarvis


After starting his career writing about music, films and video games for various places, Matt spent many years as a technology, PC and video game journalist before writing about tabletop games as the editor of Tabletop Gaming magazine. He joined Dicebreaker as editor-in-chief in 2019, and has been trying to convince the rest of the team to play Diplomacy since.